Buhari replaces Ararume with Okadigbo’s widow as NNPC Board chair

NNPC Headquarters

President Muhammadu Buhari, yesterday, replaced Senator Ifeanyi Ararume with the appointment of Mrs Margret Chuba Okadigbo, as chairperson, the board and management of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company (NNPC) Limited.

Mele Kyari remains the Chief Executive Officer, and Umar I. Ajiya, Chief Financial Officer of the company, according to a statement by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina.

Other members are Tajudeen Umar (North-East); Lami O. Ahmed (North-Central); Mallam Mohammed Lawal (North-West); Henry Obih, who replaces Okadigbo (South-East); Constance Harry Marshal (South-South), and Pius Akinyelure (South-West).

Buhari had in November 2021 suspended a planned inauguration of the board without giving reasons, sequel to the appointment of Ararume and other members in September.

But he explained that the appointment of the board is in accordance with Section 59(2) of the Petroleum Industry Act (PIA) 2021.

The statement also said the appointments took effect from the date of the incorporation of the NNPC Limited on September 29, 2021.

The appointment of the board is in accordance with Section 59(2) of the Petroleum Industry Act (PIA) 2021.

Other new appointees

Buhari also appointed executive commissioners of the Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission (NUPRC).

The Executive Commissioners include: Nuhu Habib (Kano), Development and Production; Kelechi Onyekachi Ofoegbu (Imo), Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning; Tonlagha Roland John (Delta), Health, Safety, Environment and Community; and Jide Adeola (Kogi), Corporate Services and Administration.

Earlier appointees were the Board Chairman; CEO; Executive Commissioners for Exploration and Acreage Management; as well as for Finance and Accounts.

Other new appointees were Executive Directors for the Nigerian Midstream and Downstream Petroleum Regulatory Authority (NMDPRA), including Francis Alabo Ogaree (Rivers), Hydrocarbon Processing; Mustapha Lamorde (Adamawa), Health, Safety, Environment and Community; Mansur Kuliya (Kano), Midstream and Downstream Gas Infrastructure Fund; Bashir Sadiq (Sokoto), Corporate Services and Administration; and Dr Zainab Gobir (Kwara), Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning.

They join the Board Chairman, the CEO, Executive Directors, Downstream Systems, Storage and Retailing Infrastructure, and Finance and Accounts, who had earlier been appointed.

For the Midstream and Downstream Infrastructure Fund, new Council Members are: Effiong Abia (Akwa Ibom), Bobboi Ahmed (Adamawa), and Abdullahi Bukar (Katsina).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Post

BUA foods lists 18bn ordinary shares on NGX main board

Next Post

BPE did not remit $679.4m from ports concession, says Senate

Related Posts